Peace Factory Logo CLick Here to return to Home Page     The Peace Factory Cyberworks
Cyberworks Quick Site Navigator
What's New?
Fetal Alcohol
Syndrome
DNA PIRACY
Stop The War on Women in Afghanistan
Nuclear War
Fun Peace
Peace Workers
Visit The UN
PeaceNet
World Leaders
World Peace Day
World Regulatory Organizations
Paths To Peace
Map
CONTACT US
TAKE A MOMENT FOR PEACE...
1300 HRS GMT, January 1st, each and every year

This site is part of the
Hague Appeal for Peace webring.
[ Previous | Next | Random Site | List Sites ]

To explore or return to WORLD PEACE 2000 Web Ring
Click on this logo

We want everyone everywhere to take a moment out of their day at 13:00 Hrs GMT, January 1st, each and every year. We support any and all efforts which will help people of the world to deal with conflict in a non-violent manner. Our aim is to create a moment when everyone can share a moment of communion in a common thought. We feel the emotion generated within the hearts of the participants will give a small glimpse of what is to be achieved by attaining true peace. Our web site is dedicated to that goal.

Peace On Earth

That is, at precisely ,1:OO PM Greenwich Mean Time, January 1st, each and every year, we would like you to join us and everyone else in the world to think about World Peace.

The general principle is simply for everyone everywhere on Earth think, say, shout, chant or sing the phrase 'Peace on Earth' at the exactly same time, and allow all our minds to dwell together for as long as possible on what it would mean to each one of us if this thought were reality. There's no cost to participate, and you can do it wherever you are, whatever you're doing‹ though it's possible you might want to hold a World Peace Day Festival in your home town, or even your own back yard to celebrate peace with the whole world.

If the entire planet can get together to accomplish this simple thing at the beginning of the year, then there is no reason why we all cannot work as a unified whole towards other common goals. Never before has this kind of cooperation been possible, but with today's technology, our awareness of each other is greatly enhanced. We welcome anyone who is willing to join in this human enterprise, and ask that you give it some serious consideration.

The reason we chose 1:OO PM Greenwich Mean Time is that most of the world is awake at that time. As the Pacific Ocean is our largest expanse of open water and the population density is lowest there, we picked the time while night falls over the Pacific. So, as you can see from the list under the title, Some Equivalent Times from around The Globe, starting in Asia where the population is the largest and travelling west, it is 10:00 PM in Tokyo, 9:00 PM in Beijing, 6:30 PM in New Delhi, 3:00 PM in Cairo, 10:00 AM in Rio de Janeiro, 8:00 AM in New York, 5:00 AM in Los Angeles and midnight in Melbourne. If you are inspired to act with us in this, then go right ahead! It's free! All you have to do is find out your local time equivalent to1:00 PM GMT, and at that precise time, open yourself to the thought of World Peace. But your participation needn't stop there! Anything you can think of to promote this project will be welcome.

For example, if you decide to participate, tell as many people as you can about the idea, so they can join in too. Download this letter and pass it on as we don't have enough stamps ourselves to send letters to the entire world. Let's make this the world's biggest chain letter! If you can translate this letter into another language, do it now! And please, send a copy back to us! We really want to hear from you. Though we have no resources other than a faith in other human beings to do good works, we have formed The Peace Factory as a clearing house for ideas about world peace and welcome suggestions and comments or even just a postcard saying you received our letter! Send us a photo of you and your friends! We want to build a large wall map for this event to document the people and places we have heard from. If you want to talk to us, you may contact us in Canada by telephone at 01-204-475-2133 or in writing to:

The Peace Factory
606-800 Corydon Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba
CANADA R3M 0Y3

FAX: 01-204-452-8134

Or email us

Don't be shy about asking how you can help us! Do what you can from where you are! You do not need our permission to work on this event. We are all in this together, and there is no limit to what your imagination can do!

Remember, even if you never hear about us again, you can be certain at the time we have set, untold numbers of people (let's say for now, oh, about a billion or more) will be doing exactly the same thing as you and taking a moment out of their day to think about World Peace and about all the other people in that world who can help you make that wish come true.

One People, One Planet.
Love and Peace to You, Love and Peace to the World,

Prag, Richard and Sam,
The Peace Factory.

TOP OF PAGE

Some Equivalent Times From Around The Globe

 

Once our database is operational, we hope to allow you to enter your city name and give you your local time equivalent to Greenwich Mean Time. Would like to see a world map showing time zones?

  City Country Relative time
to GMT
Actual Time
Relative to
13:00 HRS GMT
  Tokyo Japan +9 22:00
 

Seoul

South Korea

+9

22:00

 

Manila

Phillipines

+8

21:00

 

Beijing

China

+8

21:00

 

Hong Kong

China

+8

21:00

 

Jakarta

Indonesia

+7

20:00

 

Phnom Penh

Kampuchea

+7

20:00

 

Yangon

Myanamar

+6

19:00

 

Dacca

Bangaldesh

+6

19:00

 

Katmandu

Nepal

+5.7

18:48

 

New Delhi

India

+5.5

18:30

 

Karachi

Pakistan

+5

18:00

 

Atyubinsk

Kazakhstan

+5

18:00

 

Kabul

Afghanistan

+4.5

17:30

 

Tehran

Iran

+3.5

16:30

 

Bagdad

Iraq

+3

16:00

 

Moscow

Russia

+3

16:00

 

Djibouti

Djibouti

+3

16:00

 

Aden

Yemen

+3

16:00

 

Mecca

Saudi Arabia

+3

16:00

 

Cairo

Egypt

+2

15:00

 

Capetown

South Africa

+2

15:00

 

Nicosia

Cyprus

+2

15:00

 

Jerusalem

Israel

+2

15:00

 

Nabibe

Angola

+1

14:00

 

Antwerp

Belgium

+1

14:00

 

Rome

Italy

+1

14:00

 

Paris

France

+1

14:00

 

Stockholm

Sweden

+1

14:00

 

Sarajevo

Bosnia

+1

14:00

 

London

England

0

13:00

 

Reykjavik

Iceland

0

13:00

 

Belfast

Ireland

0

13:00

 

Buenos Aires

Argentina

-3

10:00

 

Rio de Janeiro

Brazil

-3

10:00

 

Halifax

Canada

-4

9:00

 

St. John's Nfld

Canada

-4.5

8:30

 

Havana

Cuba

-5

8:00

 

New York,NY

United States

-5

8:00

 

San Salvador

El Salvador

-6

7:00

 

Winnipeg

Canada

-6

7:00

 

Phoenix

United States

-7

6:00

 

Los Angeles

United States

-8

5:00

 

Honolulu

United States

-10

3:00

 

Papeete

Tahiti

-10

3:00

 

Aukland

New Zealand

+12

1:00

 

Kira Kira

Solomom Islands

+11

24:00

 

Melbourne

Australia

+10

23:00